Catching Up With Campbell T/F: Khai McLin

Student-Athlete: Khai McLin

Event: (100m, 200m, relays)

Foundation: Freshman – Plantation, Fla.

Khai

Khai McLin joins the Fighting Camels after a prolific high school career, featuring with one of the top-25 200 meter sprint times in the United States as a senior in high school.

Entering his freshman season, McLin makes his collegiate debut January 9th at the Gene Anderson Invitational in Chapel Hill. Learn more about what McLin brings to the table on and off the track.

Q: Compare between HS and College?

“Training has been harder, including the warmup and workouts. The biggest thing is the warmup. In high school all I did was an 800 meter run and stretch. Now, the workouts have more reps and more sets. The longer distances have been harder for me. I usually ran short sprints in HS so it’s been tougher. I’m a natural athlete, so it’s been easier because I’m more competitive as an individual.”

Q: What records do you hope to break?

“6.83 is the school record for 60 meter dash, I’ve set a goal for myself of 6.63. That would also set the Big South conference record in the 60. The 200 meter records will be a real challenge. If I execute my race plan I think I’ll have an opportunity to break those two records. It’ll take a lot of hard work and staying focused and having competing everyday in practice. The whole team has given me a lot of competition to push me to become better. Having a defending champion (Tashinga Chitambira) and a school record holder (Stanley Hicks) in practice really motivates me.”

Q: Any specific meet that excites you?

“Meyo Invitational at Notre Dame (Feb. 5) is what I’m looking forward to because it’s one of the biggest invitationals on one of the fastest indoor track in the world. To see the best competitors there and when I get around elite level competition, It elevates my competitiveness; I like a lot of people watching us compete as well.”

“The Big South Conference meet as well. Since I’ve been here, my teammates and I have talked about it almost every day. The goal is to win the conference title. I saw the preseason poll has us picked second. That pushes me to want to be first and win the conference.”

Q: What’s your motivation for this season?

“I use the bigger schools as motivation, just because someone is at bigger school doesn’t make them any better, we train the same (level) and just as just as hard. I also watch videos on Trayvon Bromell as one of my role models. Watching how he perfects his start and his first 50 to 60 meters, getting out strong. Also his background story of how he broke both of his knees and he’s that strong now after two or three years of putting in work.”


Assistant coach Alan Quinn on Khai:

QUINN: “Khai has great range and can run the 100, 200 and 400 meter. He’s a very humble person, but he knows he has a lot of talent. He refuses to back down from any challenges given to him.”

“He’s probably had the smoothest transition from high school to collegiate track that I’ve experienced throughout my career. He has set some pretty high and very specific goals for himself as a freshman (for this season). With his work ethic, talent and enthusiasm, he’s definitely going to bring a level of excitement to every meet.”

Read More: Meet T/F Hurdler Lilla Juhasz 

Leave a Reply

