Campbell’s Historic Run

The Fighting Camels Cross Country program set new heights over the weekend, earning a Big South Conference championship in dominant fashion for the first time since 1998.

Led by freshman Big South Runner of the Year selection Lawrence Kipkoech, who set a new meet record 23:39.69 in the 8K, four Campbell runners placed inside the top-8 spots overall.

Kipkoech is the first Campbell runner since David Pitaro in 1990 to win the individual championship in the conference championship race, blazing the competition by more than 30 seconds.

He is now the second consecutive Campbell runner to win the freshman of the year award as teammate Jacob Kipserem, who placed fourth overall on Saturday, won the award last year.

Junior All-Conference selection Amon Terer was part of the lead pack, finishing second with an equally impressive time of 24:10:27, giving the Fighting Camels three of the top four finishers.

For more on the race, and the record-setting results, make sure to read the full recap on Here’s an inside look at the historic conference championships from Spartanburg, S.C.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s